I'm just getting started in woodworking. I did a couple end tables that looked nice but didn't survive our last move. Now I've convinced the wife to let me build a new kitchen table to replace the durable but ugly one we picked up at Sam's Club years ago. If that goes well, I'll take a shot at a large dining room table.

• Plus1 1

I made a spice rack in 9th grade shop class. It pretty much sucked but my mom used it for years. My dad was really good working with wood, me not so much. He made all kinds of furniture and even built a lute from scratch. I'm okay with carpentry but apparently I don't have the patience for fine woodworking.

2 minutes ago, El Diaco said:

I made a spice rack in 9th grade shop class. It pretty much sucked but my mom used it for years. My dad was really good working with wood, me not so much. He made all kinds of furniture and even built a lute from scratch. I'm okay with carpentry but apparently I don't have the patience for fine woodworking.

Carpentry, as in? Like Sheetrock, etc?

I built a shop last year so wood working can be my new hobby.  It's pretty nice with enough space.  I built a special sized cabinet for a bathroom I remodeled.

Then....my son who has decided to now be a car guy, bought a truck and now my woodworking shop is his car shop.:angry:  But, I'm having fun working on his truck with him.  He'll be gone next year and it will go back to being my wood working shop.  

My next project will be a night stand.  I then want to build an entertainment cabinet for the living room.

I have some very old wood from an old barn my ancestors built along with a building my grandfather built.  I've played around with it some and built a stool for the wood shop.  It looks pretty dang cool when sanded and oiled.

On 10/13/2017 at 2:24 PM, BigRedBuster said: