Blues Music

I don't mean to offend, but is ZZ Top even blues? When I think of blues I think of John Lee Hooker, or Robert Johnson, or Leadbelly. And please, PLEASE, don't try to sell me on the Blues Brothers as blues.

btw, If you are anywhere near Lincoln and want to hear good blues music try the Zoo Bar. A great place. Been there forever. Just a couple blocks off campus on 14th street.

Odd how subjective music can be. I can barely tolerate blues - I find it repetitive and monotonous. However, it's simply amazing the number of musicians that love it. That's always made me think that they can "hear" something in it I can't. I've asked a number of musicians what it is about the blues that they love, and none could really provide a definitive answer. The best I heard was, "Why not asking me why I like the color green? I just do. The blues just have a rhythm that appeals to me."

Anyway, while I play guitar, I'm no musician - I'm a technician. So, I've always been envious of those who really are musicians, and an appreciation of the blues is part of that envy.

Sorry to go off topic, by the way. Carry on.

Odd how subjective music can be. I can barely tolerate blues - I find it repetitive and monotonous. However, it's simply amazing the number of musicians that love it. That's always made me think that they can "hear" something in it I can't. I've asked a number of musicians what it is about the blues that they love, and none could really provide a definitive answer. The best I heard was, "Why not asking me why I like the color green? I just do. The blues just have a rhythm that appeals to me."

Anyway, while I play guitar, I'm no musician - I'm a technician. So, I've always been envious of those who really are musicians, and an appreciation of the blues is part of that envy.