Students Distracted by Technology in School

I had this as a status update and was asked to make a thread. I am going to copy and paste what has been talked about already. I know that my opinions will probably vary from a lot of people that aren't in education, but if you are a parent you need to be aware that technology is a great thing, but it is also distracting many students from getting an education.

As a teacher, I am really beginning to hate technology. My students are way too addicted to their cell phones and iPads(which the district has provided for them) If you are a parent, please educate your kids to try to learn something in school and put down their technology for a little while.

Hide Comments

ShawnWatson

Try to incorporate technology to your classroom if the district has provided it. New technology isn't going away, sounds like you need to adapt or get a different job.

SandhillshuskerW

I'm not talking about incorporating it, I do that already. I'm talking about students that are addicted to their cell phones and using their iPads for social media nonstop. I know that technology isn't going away, but parents need to do a better job of educating their kids the appropriate time to text their friends.

knapplc

There should be some way the school can block social media. That seems like a no-brainer for school-provided tech.

huskermike84

I believe that there are apps that will block social media, I know for a fact that Apple has apps, don't know about android. Maybe you should send out a flyer to parents to make them aware of the issue.

Creighton Duke

^^^^+1 to knapp

SandhillshuskerW

They have tried to block it and the kids are smart enough to get around it. They blocked Facebook and Snapchat and Twitter this year and the kids already found a way around it.

jaws