So, I started playing this game in alpha called Rust. There are some things I really love about it. You start out buck naked with a rock and a torch. You can design your own base. Or multiple bases. You learn blueprints to make more advanced things for your base, or more advanced weapons. You can hunt animals for food and cloth to make your own clothes. There are air drops from helicopters and planes and there's radiation in some areas. It's a post apocalyptic world but you never really find out what happened. You're just trying to survive.

The trouble with it is the player base is a bunch of jerkfaces. Most of the time the other players just shoot you without question. Every so often you can talk your way out of being shot and only have to give half your crap to them. The only way to do really well is to play with a bunch of other people on a team or clan. The fact it's so challenging trying to hide from the other players and not get killed is kind of fun in its own way but it can be incredibly frustrating when you're just starting out in the game and they have rocket launchers and machine guns vs your wooden spear.

I'm wondering if anyone has suggestions for games like this where you either can't kill the other players, or there are specific pvp zones/safe zones, or the player base isn't a bunch of a**holes.

Sounds like an episode

So, I started playing this game in alpha called Rust. There are some things I really love about it. You start out naked with a rock and a torch. You can design your own base. Or multiple bases. You learn blueprints to make more advanced things for your base, or more advanced weapons. You can hunt animals for food and cloth to make your own clothes. There are air drops from helicopters and planes and there's radiation in some areas. It's a post apocalyptic world but you never really find out what happened. You're just trying to survive.