Purify scampered to the left on the third-down play, picking up a first down. But as he was tackled, he was stripped of the ball before any part of his body hit the ground. The ball was recovered by Texas A&M, and the play was called a fumble by line judge Tim Pringle.
Purify didn't see it that way.
"Watch the tape," he said. "I didn't fumble. I was down."
Quarterback Joel Klatt backed up Purify's claims.
"Yeah, he was down," Klatt said. "His shoulder was down, his elbow was down. I don't know what else to say."