MoStateHusker
Four-Star Recruit
First of all. Game is over. I shouldn't care, but I got curious....
this is regarding the 2nd to last drive for the Huskers, and in particular the td throw to Holt (I think) that was ruled incomplete.
I like to do investigative work and since I saw a good debate on espn.com about it, I thought I would dig in deeper.
"ARTICLE 3. A live ball becomes dead and an official shall sound his whistle
or declare it dead:
b. When any part of the ball carrier’s body, except his hand or foot, touches
the ground or when the ball carrier is tackled or otherwise falls and loses
possession of the ball as he contacts the ground with any part of his
body, except his hand or foot [Exception: The ball remains alive when
an offensive player has simulated a kick or is in position to kick the ball
held for a place kick by a teammate. The ball may be kicked, passed or
advanced by rule] (A.R. 4-1-3-I)."
This is just my interpretation, but the play was dead when Holt's knee hit the ground out of bounds after making the catch. Therefore, because he had possession at that moment and until his elbow hit the ground it should have been ruled a touchdown.
Once again, it doesn't matter. but I would like to see others' look into that play and prove me wrong
this is regarding the 2nd to last drive for the Huskers, and in particular the td throw to Holt (I think) that was ruled incomplete.
I like to do investigative work and since I saw a good debate on espn.com about it, I thought I would dig in deeper.
"ARTICLE 3. A live ball becomes dead and an official shall sound his whistle
or declare it dead:
b. When any part of the ball carrier’s body, except his hand or foot, touches
the ground or when the ball carrier is tackled or otherwise falls and loses
possession of the ball as he contacts the ground with any part of his
body, except his hand or foot [Exception: The ball remains alive when
an offensive player has simulated a kick or is in position to kick the ball
held for a place kick by a teammate. The ball may be kicked, passed or
advanced by rule] (A.R. 4-1-3-I)."
This is just my interpretation, but the play was dead when Holt's knee hit the ground out of bounds after making the catch. Therefore, because he had possession at that moment and until his elbow hit the ground it should have been ruled a touchdown.
Once again, it doesn't matter. but I would like to see others' look into that play and prove me wrong