Looks like a fumble

That played was just too hard to tell. What ever was called on the field was going to stand because there just wasn't enough evidence to overturn the call either way.

 
Couldn't see that from the replay on the big screen, but some guy at work yesterday was telling me it was a fumble. It brings up the question, did he get it over the pile-on and fumble? Did it go out of bounds beforehand? Etc. Tough one to call. I think that makes up for the Lateral fumble that was blown dead for KU.

 
On that play you would need an overhead view or a view straight along the goaline to determine if the ball crossed the plain first. If it did, the fumble is a moot point. Officials made the right call to just call him at the 1 because there was not irrefutable evidence.

 
Couldn't see that from the replay on the big screen, but some guy at work yesterday was telling me it was a fumble. It brings up the question, did he get it over the pile-on and fumble? Did it go out of bounds beforehand? Etc. Tough one to call. I think that makes up for the Lateral fumble that was blown dead for KU.
This is one of those plays that is going to look different at every angle. One of the angles I saw during the game clearly looked like he was out, another made it look like a TD, and this image makes it look like a fumble. I don't think we'll ever know.

 
I agree with you Kid....the different angles that FSN was giving made it look both ways. Way too hard of a call to make. I believe it was the right call though. As a couple of people have said there was not enough evidence to overturn the call.

 
I thought they showed an angle perfectly on the pylon where it looked like he scored, but just for a second, and then fumbled. That would have still been a score, but oh well, we got in on the next play.

 
This is one of those plays that is going to look different at every angle. One of the angles I saw during the game clearly looked like he was out, another made it look like a TD, and this image makes it look like a fumble. I don't think we'll ever know.
That's what I am wondering. The challenge was whether or not it was a catch.

I need to watch the replays to see if he ever secured the ball before he extended it to the end zone. If he did, then the fumble doesn't matter and the correct call was made. Actually either way it doesn't matter. The game is over.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
He secured the ball and actually took a step or two. What happened here is he tried shifting the ball from his left arm to his right hand and lost control of it. KU challened the call claiming it was an incomplete pass. They determined it was a catch. What KU should have done is challened the call and claimed he fumbled it in the endzone in which case it would've been a touch back.

 
It was definately a catch...rules state that as long as the player has a clear possession of the ball it is a catch...he took two almost three steps...the pass was complete. As for my unbias opinion...if you look hard enough...the ball tip DOES cross the line before he loses contact with the ball...in that case...it should have been a touchdown.

 
I was worried when KU was challenging the call. Not the the pass would have been called incomplete (that wouldn't have been the end of the world) but that they would rule that he fumbled the ball out of the endzone and it would be a touchback. Then on top of that, the replay officials looked at it again after they over ruled KU's challenge. I'm not sure if that decision was made by the officials upstairs or if BC challenged the call that it should be a td. If BC challenged me that really worries me. Things could have turned bad real quick. If we can't punch it in from a 1/2 yard out with 4 plays we don't deserve to win. I was just waiting for the officials to screw us over. Thankfully it didn't happen and we punched the ball in the next play, held them, and won the game. Close calls.

 
I don't Caly challenged the play. I think he was discussing where the ball should be placed and that's why the officials went back to the replay official.

From the replays they showed on tv, there was no clear cut evidence it was either a fumble or a td. In fact, one angle showed him going out of bounds before he lost control of the ball. I think the officials made the correct call.

 
I believe Swift had lost control of the ball as it it broke the plane of the goal line. It might take frame by frame analysis to determine exactly when he did let go.

Now I question what the exact sequence was after Kansas lost their appeal on the play. Was it the officials that were taking a second look at it or did Coach Callahan challenge whether it was a touchdown?

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Normally the officials announce if the play is being challenged but I don't remember them making any announcment after talking with Caly which is why I'm thinking he was discussing where the ball should be placed.

 
Back
Top