The officiating had nothing to do with it? That one single call, the hands to the face penalty, led to a BYU touchdown. What was the final score again?Give me a break - the officiating had nothing to do with it. The team played well in stretches, but could not beat a BYU team that was decimated with injurues to key players on both sides of the ball. It never should have come down to that final play, but sometimes you win those (like against Northwestern a while back), and sometimes you don't.
Sounds like our team.Give me a break - the officiating had nothing to do with it. The team played well in stretches, but could not beat a BYU team that was decimated with injurues to key players on both sides of the ball. It never should have come down to that final play, but sometimes you win those (like against Northwestern a while back), and sometimes you don't.
"That proves to me we have morons refing the game right there." Or were they perhaps "mormons"?That was beyond dirty. He literally took 3 steps and then dove at his knee. As for the illegal hands to the face, the video clearly shows that 55(Williams) clearly had his facemask pushed up into the air, and Williams did NOT touch the other guys helmet at all even though he couldn't see. Truly a BS call by our own idiot refs. They didn't even know what is considered a legal and illegal block and tried to flag us for one later in the game until a ref that could actually read a rule book told them it was legal. That proves to me we have morons refing the game right there.I was more pissed about the bad guy diving at Sutton's knee, and not getting flagged. It was outright dirty.
Touchdown Tommie said:The fact that two officials could not see that the DB was taking a dive at Sutton's knee is baffling. There needs to be an explanation given by the conference.
The hands to the face should have been off setting if anything. The OL clearly has his right hand on his face mask twice! Maurice gets his hands up there at the end.
Unbelievable misses by the officials!
Great screen grab. And yes...it should have been called on both players, offsetting penalties to replay the down and take the points off the board.Finally got around to watching the replay. I think this was the "right" call, they just missed the part that it should have been called on both players. You can't see Maurice's hands from this view but you can see the BYU lineman's head back and to the right which is what the Umpire sees. The hand in Maurice's face is on the back side from the Umpire's view.
![]()