Wow, I'm impressed. Everyone seems to be pissed about no calls on two different occasions. No one is even talking about the biggest screw up of the game. The fake field goal that CU took in for 6 should have been spotted down where the placeholders knee was because the kicker took off too soon and was out of the kicker's box therefore making him a receiver. The placeholder was then considered the QB, but he had his knee on the ground which means he should have been down and CU take over on downs where his knee was down.
Well, we can't have our cake and eat it too. The play worked vs KU and technically Wesch shoulda been called down on that one too.
I was at the KU game so I don't know what they said during the game, but I thought in the post-game they said that his knee was up off of the ground in time.
K, well that's different. I'm pretty certain Henery was out of his kicker's box though, he nearly had to dive to catch that thing.
You are right he was outside the box and it should have been called in the CU game, but oh well I guess it kind of just blends in to the rest of the season. All I can say is that at least we won it was kind of ugly which a lot of th CU vs. NU games are but we did get the win!! GBR
Bo did still have his coaches challenge after the Fage FG debacle. I know it was his play, but I wonder if he thought about questioning it? Supposedly he was told by Big XII after KU game that if he ran that play again, they would call the holder down. If Bo knew that, I wonder........
It was not an incorrect call....they discussed it during the telecast. There is an exception in the rule book about the 'knee down'.
The reason is because of Rule 4-1-3(b, exception)
This rule creates the exception to the ball being declared dead when a player's knee is down touching the ground. The exception applies only to the HOLDER when an offensive player kicks or simulates kicking the ball for a place kick (Field Goal). By rule the ball may be advanced, kicked or passed.
In college football the holder may place his knee on the ground and the ball is not declared dead
The Test: Is there a player in position to kick or simulate a kick at the snap. The holder may rise to gain possession of the muffed snap and return to the ground
From the rulebook:
When any part of the ball carrier’s body, except his hand or foot, touches
the ground or when the ball carrier is tackled or otherwise falls and loses
possession of the ball as he contacts the ground with any part of his
body, except his hand or foot. (Exception: The ball remains alive when
an offensive player has simulated a kick or is in position to kick the ball
held for a place kick by a teammate. The ball may be kicked, passed or
advanced by rule) (A.R. 4-1-3-I)