I agree with that part.
But, how about the fact that the ball was intercepted before it ever got to the receiver? Wouldn’t that be similar to it being a tipped ball by the defense so no pass interference?
If I’m wrong on that, then what’s the rule on the tipped ball by the defense? Does it have to be touched by a defensive player at the LOS? If it’s past the LOS then that doesn’t matter?
I think it's more if the contact was before or after it was touched by the defense. Obviously a tipped ball is (most often) touched by the defense before the potential pass interference occurs. In the case of this play, if they would have intercepted it before the contact, then there isn't PI because the pass is over. But the contact being before or right with the ball being contacted by the defense makes it pass interference (unless it is judged uncatchable).