Isn't that the same as the big hubbub in the NFL this weekend with the OL not reporting (or the refs missed it etc) and catching a pass for Detroit's 2 PT conversion? Lineman aren't allowed to handle the ball on a set play I didn't think. Not to say that really makes a ton of sense, but it is the rule AFAIK.
College rules are different from the NFL. NFL players can "report eligible" (which is what the controversy was about). But as long as they report, they can be an eligible receiver.
College linemen are never eligible receivers. However, they can catch backwards passes. There was an OL that scored on a backwards pass in a bowl game this year. The Huskers tried this in a bowl game a few years ago but I don't think it worked.
I don't think they could take a direct handoff, at least not from their initial position. But I don't know how that rule reads exactly.