Except for the part where they use absolutely no rules references to justify their position.Damn good breakdown of just how awful the Craft charge call was, from USA Today:
http://www.usatoday....-state/2015301/
Totally incorrect. There is nothing in the rule book that states the heels have to be down. The player only has to have both feet on the floor to establish position, which Craft obviously did.First, if Craft's heel was still moving, then he wasn't properly set.
Also totally made up as far as I can tell. I can find no rule stating that being over the restricted area means you're inside it and that would be totally inconsistent with the rest of the rules. Everything else is explicitly where you are touching the floor or where you last touched the floor if airborne. Until someone can show differently, I don't believe this ruling would be any different.Second, a defender standing over the restricted area is considered to be in the restricted area. The application of the rule isn't like a ball handler standing with his heels over the out of bounds area. If Craft's foot was above the semi-circle, then he can't take a charge. (The ruling is similar to how it's considered a touchdown if a football crosses the plane of the end zone, but not out of bounds if a ball crossed the plane of the sideline.)
In fact, the restricted area does just the opposite. It gives the advantage to the offense because it doesn't matter how good of defense is being played or how long a defender has held his position, it's still a foul on the defense if they are inside the restricted area.The problem, perhaps, isn't with the call, it's with the idea that college basketball rewards defensive players for sliding into position and standing still rather than playing defense.
Damn good breakdown of just how awful the Craft charge call was, from USA Today:
http://www.usatoday....-state/2015301/
On your first point, that is wrong. You do not have to be "set" or have your both of your feet set. Common misconception.Except for the part where they use absolutely no rules references to justify their position.Damn good breakdown of just how awful the Craft charge call was, from USA Today:
http://www.usatoday....-state/2015301/
Totally incorrect. There is nothing in the rule book that states the heels have to be down. The player only has to have both feet on the floor to establish position, which Craft obviously did.First, if Craft's heel was still moving, then he wasn't properly set.
Also totally made up as far as I can tell. I can find no rule stating that being over the restricted area means you're inside it and that would be totally inconsistent with the rest of the rules. Everything else is explicitly where you are touching the floor or where you last touched the floor if airborne. Until someone can show differently, I don't believe this ruling would be any different.Second, a defender standing over the restricted area is considered to be in the restricted area. The application of the rule isn't like a ball handler standing with his heels over the out of bounds area. If Craft's foot was above the semi-circle, then he can't take a charge. (The ruling is similar to how it's considered a touchdown if a football crosses the plane of the end zone, but not out of bounds if a ball crossed the plane of the sideline.)
No, I am correct about the feet. You have to have both feet on the floor to establish legal guarding position, which is what I said. After that you can move.On your first point, that is wrong. You do not have to be "set" or have your both of your feet set. Common misconception.
On your second point, that is wrong. The NCAA Director of Officiating even said on TV that "over" equals in. It is not like hovering above an out of bounds line.
No actually you dont have to have either feet set to take a charge. You can be in the air and take a charge as long as you arent moving side to side. It is indeed in the rulebook.No, I am correct about the feet. You have to have both feet on the floor to establish legal guarding position, which is what I said. After that you can move.On your first point, that is wrong. You do not have to be "set" or have your both of your feet set. Common misconception.
On your second point, that is wrong. The NCAA Director of Officiating even said on TV that "over" equals in. It is not like hovering above an out of bounds line.
As far as being over, that could be. There is nothing in the rule book that states over equals in. There could be some other document or instruction that says that but I haven't seen it and I didn't see the interview.
Ok, I misread your first comment. You are right about establishing the position.No, I am correct about the feet. You have to have both feet on the floor to establish legal guarding position, which is what I said. After that you can move.On your first point, that is wrong. You do not have to be "set" or have your both of your feet set. Common misconception.
On your second point, that is wrong. The NCAA Director of Officiating even said on TV that "over" equals in. It is not like hovering above an out of bounds line.
As far as being over, that could be. There is nothing in the rule book that states over equals in. There could be some other document or instruction that says that but I haven't seen it and I didn't see the interview.
You are both correct, really. Mavric is right about establishing position. Then after establishing position, you can move (jump).No actually you dont have to have either feet set to take a charge. You can be in the air and take a charge as long as you arent moving side to side. It is indeed in the rulebook.No, I am correct about the feet. You have to have both feet on the floor to establish legal guarding position, which is what I said. After that you can move.On your first point, that is wrong. You do not have to be "set" or have your both of your feet set. Common misconception.
On your second point, that is wrong. The NCAA Director of Officiating even said on TV that "over" equals in. It is not like hovering above an out of bounds line.
As far as being over, that could be. There is nothing in the rule book that states over equals in. There could be some other document or instruction that says that but I haven't seen it and I didn't see the interview.