Reilly out of bounds

I don't care. The reason I don't care is the MSU DB nearly pulled Moore's arm out of his socket on a potential TD pass he nearly caught despite the uncalled interference.Furthermore, we deserved to have one break out of fifty go our way this year.[/quote

I couldn't agree more
 
From my seats in the north end zone, there was enough contact by the defender to have made the call that Reilly was forced out of bounds. The angle the TV replay showed was NOT the beginning of the contact, NOT what started Reilly's momentum in the direction of the sideline. There was contact BEFORE that clip started.

Anyone griping about it being a "bad" call can stop. It wasn't. It was a judgment call and it's supported by the rules.

Matt Schick explains:

vClRdKj.png


Those of you convinced this was a bad call - you've got some other agenda, or you weren't there and didn't see it, or you believe whatever you see/hear from TV announcers.

 
He didn't push the WR out of bounds... Jesus.
You are upset we won aren't you.
You would like that wouldn't you.
wait.......are you my 12 year old daughter? You sound just like her...and you make as much sense.

I told you that you can't have any internet accounts I don't know about. Bring me your phone. You can have it back when you learn to make better choices.
sh#t dad's pissed RUN

 
Here is the actual rule:

Eligibility Lost by Going Out of Bounds

ARTICLE 4. No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds and returns in bounds during a down shall touch a legal forward pass while in the field of play or end zones or while airborne until it has been touched by an opponent or official (A.R. 7-3-4-I, II and IV). [Exception: This does not apply to an originally eligible offensive player who immediately returns inbounds after going out of bounds due to contact by an opponent (A.R. 7-3-4-III)]. If he touches the pass before returning in bounds, it is an incomplete pass (Rule 7-3-7) and not a foul for illegal touching.
Link

So ... the word "force" isn't even in there. All there has to be is "contact". There was definitely contact. Correct (non) call.

 
Could've gone either way, like a million other things. Empathy for Spartan fans because we've been here. But I'll take the call.
The DB was all over Reilly. I cant believe a Husker fan decrying it as a bad call. Shame on you guys.

 
It's like holding, DPI, or your typical offsetting PI kind of play. Judgment calls that often happen when they didn't necessarily have to, or don't get called when it was a possibility. Be thankful for it!

When I watched the replay I was thinking that for Reilly to stay in bounds he would've had to collide and run through the Spartan player on the play. Certainly seemed enough to argue he got forced out that half yard or so, even if it wasn't the most blatant forcing out ever.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Here is the actual rule:

Eligibility Lost by Going Out of Bounds

ARTICLE 4. No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds and returns in bounds during a down shall touch a legal forward pass while in the field of play or end zones or while airborne until it has been touched by an opponent or official (A.R. 7-3-4-I, II and IV). [Exception: This does not apply to an originally eligible offensive player who immediately returns inbounds after going out of bounds due to contact by an opponent (A.R. 7-3-4-III)]. If he touches the pass before returning in bounds, it is an incomplete pass (Rule 7-3-7) and not a foul for illegal touching.
Link

So ... the word "force" isn't even in there. All there has to be is "contact". There was definitely contact. Correct (non) call.
The catch is if it is judged that Rielly initiated the contact. The defensive player is entitled to his position. If the offensive player continues to run into the defender that is not considered contact by the defender causing him to go out of bounds. Its a judgment call for sure. I think its a bad call. But, I also don't care. I think we were going to score anyway and plenty of calls have cost us games that were alto worse. Michigan St. did not lose because of that play. They lost by not putting us away and leaving themselves in a position where a judgment call whether something like this or PI could cost them the game. Kick the field goal in the first quarter and this doesn't lose you the game. Don't throw a pick with great field position in the first half. Sparty had plenty of chances to win this but at the end of the day we made the plays when it mattered most. Over the course of 60 min. we beat them.

 
The official rule posting by Mavric is completely definitive. It was a correct non-call - There was contact, there's no doubt.

The call was correct. Incredible win.

 
1. Did the defender initiate contact (basically any contact. Doesnt have to be forceful)?

2. Did the offensive player come back into play as soon as reasonably possible?

Right or not, thats how its called.

 
Here is the actual rule:

Eligibility Lost by Going Out of Bounds

ARTICLE 4. No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds and returns in bounds during a down shall touch a legal forward pass while in the field of play or end zones or while airborne until it has been touched by an opponent or official (A.R. 7-3-4-I, II and IV). [Exception: This does not apply to an originally eligible offensive player who immediately returns inbounds after going out of bounds due to contact by an opponent (A.R. 7-3-4-III)]. If he touches the pass before returning in bounds, it is an incomplete pass (Rule 7-3-7) and not a foul for illegal touching.
Link

So ... the word "force" isn't even in there. All there has to be is "contact". There was definitely contact. Correct (non) call.
The catch is if it is judged that Rielly initiated the contact. The defensive player is entitled to his position. If the offensive player continues to run into the defender that is not considered contact by the defender causing him to go out of bounds. Its a judgment call for sure. I think its a bad call. But, I also don't care. I think we were going to score anyway and plenty of calls have cost us games that were alto worse. Michigan St. did not lose because of that play. They lost by not putting us away and leaving themselves in a position where a judgment call whether something like this or PI could cost them the game. Kick the field goal in the first quarter and this doesn't lose you the game. Don't throw a pick with great field position in the first half. Sparty had plenty of chances to win this but at the end of the day we made the plays when it mattered most. Over the course of 60 min. we beat them.
Where are you getting any of what you just posted from the rule above?

 
Here is the actual rule:

Eligibility Lost by Going Out of Bounds

ARTICLE 4. No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds and returns in bounds during a down shall touch a legal forward pass while in the field of play or end zones or while airborne until it has been touched by an opponent or official (A.R. 7-3-4-I, II and IV). [Exception: This does not apply to an originally eligible offensive player who immediately returns inbounds after going out of bounds due to contact by an opponent (A.R. 7-3-4-III)]. If he touches the pass before returning in bounds, it is an incomplete pass (Rule 7-3-7) and not a foul for illegal touching.
Link

So ... the word "force" isn't even in there. All there has to be is "contact". There was definitely contact. Correct (non) call.
The catch is if it is judged that Rielly initiated the contact. The defensive player is entitled to his position. If the offensive player continues to run into the defender that is not considered contact by the defender causing him to go out of bounds. Its a judgment call for sure. I think its a bad call. But, I also don't care. I think we were going to score anyway and plenty of calls have cost us games that were alto worse. Michigan St. did not lose because of that play. They lost by not putting us away and leaving themselves in a position where a judgment call whether something like this or PI could cost them the game. Kick the field goal in the first quarter and this doesn't lose you the game. Don't throw a pick with great field position in the first half. Sparty had plenty of chances to win this but at the end of the day we made the plays when it mattered most. Over the course of 60 min. we beat them.
Where are you getting any of what you just posted from the rule above?
Contact BY a defender. A receiver is not allowed to just run into a DB if a DB has position. That is not contact by a defender that is contact initiated by the receiver.

 
The argument on the MSU side is that the defender had position and was running down the sideline and Reilly ran into him and then went out of bounds to get around him. If that was legal receivers would do it all the time because that opens up the sideline to them as field they can use to get open.

 
Here is the actual rule:

Eligibility Lost by Going Out of Bounds

ARTICLE 4. No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds and returns in bounds during a down shall touch a legal forward pass while in the field of play or end zones or while airborne until it has been touched by an opponent or official (A.R. 7-3-4-I, II and IV). [Exception: This does not apply to an originally eligible offensive player who immediately returns inbounds after going out of bounds due to contact by an opponent (A.R. 7-3-4-III)]. If he touches the pass before returning in bounds, it is an incomplete pass (Rule 7-3-7) and not a foul for illegal touching.
Link

So ... the word "force" isn't even in there. All there has to be is "contact". There was definitely contact. Correct (non) call.
The catch is if it is judged that Rielly initiated the contact. The defensive player is entitled to his position. If the offensive player continues to run into the defender that is not considered contact by the defender causing him to go out of bounds. Its a judgment call for sure. I think its a bad call. But, I also don't care. I think we were going to score anyway and plenty of calls have cost us games that were alto worse. Michigan St. did not lose because of that play. They lost by not putting us away and leaving themselves in a position where a judgment call whether something like this or PI could cost them the game. Kick the field goal in the first quarter and this doesn't lose you the game. Don't throw a pick with great field position in the first half. Sparty had plenty of chances to win this but at the end of the day we made the plays when it mattered most. Over the course of 60 min. we beat them.
Where are you getting any of what you just posted from the rule above?
Contact BY a defender. A receiver is not allowed to just run into a DB if a DB has position. That is not contact by a defender that is contact initiated by the receiver.
Find me a clip where you can actually see who initiated contact, assuming that has anything to do with the rule.

 
Back
Top