First, the fourth quarter reception by Minnesota's wide receiver that was initially ruled incomplete and then overturned. From one angle, the player appeared to not have control when his first foot hit, but then gained control when his second foot hit, however his second foot's toe hit the white line when he landed (at least from my POV). From the end zone angle, the player had possession of the football before going out of bounds, but then it bobbled between him and the defender before hitting the turf out of bounds.
I was under the impression that not only did a player have to maintain possession of the ball when going out of bounds for it to be a catch, but that the booth had to have "irrefutable" video evidence to overturn the call on the field, which I will remind everyone was incomplete. Neither of these two requirements were met, at least not by estimations. What did you guys see? In the grand scheme of things it didn't matter and Minnesota was getting romped anyways, but it seemed like a poorly officiated call.
Second, why did the clock not stop with under two minutes left when our back ran out of bounds? Obviously the game was decided, but I don't care if we're up by 10 or up by 40. If you run out of bounds with under two minutes left in the second or fourth quarter, the clock is supposed to completely stop. Is there a sub point to the rule that leaves clock stopping up to the discretion of the time referee if the game is a blowout?
I was under the impression that not only did a player have to maintain possession of the ball when going out of bounds for it to be a catch, but that the booth had to have "irrefutable" video evidence to overturn the call on the field, which I will remind everyone was incomplete. Neither of these two requirements were met, at least not by estimations. What did you guys see? In the grand scheme of things it didn't matter and Minnesota was getting romped anyways, but it seemed like a poorly officiated call.
Second, why did the clock not stop with under two minutes left when our back ran out of bounds? Obviously the game was decided, but I don't care if we're up by 10 or up by 40. If you run out of bounds with under two minutes left in the second or fourth quarter, the clock is supposed to completely stop. Is there a sub point to the rule that leaves clock stopping up to the discretion of the time referee if the game is a blowout?