Don't know if it was challengeable or if the upstairs ppl knew the rules. Yes it was a catch. Ball hits the ground from stretching for yards and the far end zone ref who emphatically called incompletion must have been from Eau Claire....Winnesota-peeka... or Hacken-chewaka... <_<It was clearly a catch. Why didn't we challenge the call?
Yeah. So we lost and no longer had a challenge.Thought that was in first half.Also we lost our challenge early in the game on the Montee Ball touchdown.
You get 1 per half.Yeah. So we lost and no longer had a challenge.Thought that was in first half.Also we lost our challenge early in the game on the Montee Ball touchdown.
Bo even stated that he knows the rule, though his interpretation of the rule is probably different from what the referees view it. For that reason, Bo didn't want to challenge it and burn a timeout at that point in the game.This rule has been in the college game for several years.
If a receiver goes to the ground while making a catch, the receiver must maintain control of the ball through the entire process. If the ball comes loose, it is an incomplete pass. This rule was put in place for just these types of circumstances and this same call is made many times every Saturday. There is no reason to review that play when it was clearly incomplete by rule.
The rule book gives several examples. This one is probable applies most to the Enunwa incomplete pass:
Completed Pass—ARTICLE 6
Approved Ruling 7-3-6
IX. Airborne receiver A85 grasps a forward pass and in the process of going
to the ground, first contacts the ground with his left foot as he falls to
the ground inbounds. Immediately upon A85 hitting the ground, the ball
comes loose and touches the ground. RULING: Incomplete pass. An
airborne receiver must maintain control of the ball while going to the
ground in the process of completing a catch.
You can download the rule book here.
This doesn't apply. This is when a player falls to the ground and the ball comes loose "AND THEN" the ball touches the ground before they've "caught" the ball. So you're falling, land on your back, ball pops out. The ball has to be loose before it makes contact with the ground - in which case it's an incomplete pass. However, if the receiver had possession of the football, the ball first makes contact with ground "and then" comes loose - it's a catch. Otherwise, if you applied this rule to all catches (which you have to correct?), then a RB that receives the ball in the backfield and runs for 50 yards before being tackled, however goes down and as he does the ball comes into contact with the ground and (while he still has possession) it comes loose...then the ball would be 50 yards back at the original line of scrimmage and ruled as incomplete (when it was clearly a complete pass).whiplash said:This rule has been in the college game for several years.
If a receiver goes to the ground while making a catch, the receiver must maintain control of the ball through the entire process. If the ball comes loose, it is an incomplete pass. This rule was put in place for just these types of circumstances and this same call is made many times every Saturday. There is no reason to review that play when it was clearly incomplete by rule.
The rule book gives several examples. This one is probable applies most to the Enunwa incomplete pass:
Completed Pass—ARTICLE 6
Approved Ruling 7-3-6
IX. Airborne receiver A85 grasps a forward pass and in the process of going
to the ground, first contacts the ground with his left foot as he falls to
the ground inbounds. Immediately upon A85 hitting the ground, the ball
comes loose and touches the ground. RULING: Incomplete pass. An
airborne receiver must maintain control of the ball while going to the
ground in the process of completing a catch.
You can download the rule book here.
No red flags in NCAA, only NFL. Also we had already used the one challenge on the Ball touchdown in the first half, so Bo was out. Supposedly, each play in a college football game is reviewed, but I'm not sure why they didn't review that one during a brief timeout. I thought in the stadium that it was incomplete. Watching a replay on TV last night, I thought it was probably a catch. QE caught it and reached out to try to get to the end zone, and the ball popped out when it hit the ground, although he was clearly down before.I don't think Bo wants to get a grass stain on his little red flag. I can't remember him ever throwing it.
Yeah, I think I always found this to be a BS rule. That catch by Meno in particular, I would have thought he had "scored" at that point. Heck, if I recall, he could have pratically spiked the ball down and it would have been a TD. His "falling" was IMO, very clearly separate and after the catch. Basically an extraneous motion.This is the same situation as the waved-off touchdown against Virginia Tech, the game we lost in 2009 when our WR (Meno Holt, I think) caught the ball in the end zone, fell down, and as he fell, the ball popped out.
Before this rule, that's a catch and we win that game. The rule's been in effect for a few years, and we lost that game - and this catch - because of it.