Going Way Out Into The Wilderness

So I've finished reading a massive two-part biography of Teddy Roosevelt. In it, he falls in love with the Badlands of South Dakota, and often went on long expeditions out there to clear his mind.

I am really interested in doing something similar and experiencing a trek out in nature for a few days. I've never done anything like it before and I was wondering if things like that are still possible, what with all the development in this country and land ownership and what not.

I would also like to purchase a small-bore rifle (.22 LR / .17 HMR ?) and snag me some rabbits to cook if I were on such a trek. I haven't touched a rifle since boot camp. Again, I don't know if you can just bring a rifle out into "The Wild" these days, since I live in NYC and nothing is open land for even like fifty miles in any direction.

Any thoughts on such a trek or parts of the country where such a thing would be possible?

Depending on the time of the year you make your trek you're not going to want to shoot and eat rabbits and rabbits only. A diet of protein from rabbits can lead to rabbit starvation or protein poisoning. In addition wild rabbits can carry and transfer tularemia.

As for places to venture off to. I would consider the Adirondack's or the Catskills as they close to where you live and there are a lot of place to camp and hike. Get a map, a good compass, and learn how to read the map.

In addition wild rabbits can carry and transfer tularemia.

Well that's a buzz kill.

Thanks for the insight guys. I'm looking into doing this in the summer. The Catskills would be very convenient, but I think a little too close to home. I'm thinking of going West.

• 2 weeks later...

My old College Buddy came out to visit me shortly after I moved out here.