C-Grix running with No 1 Offense

Humility key for NU's Grixby

BY ELIZABETH MERRILL

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LINCOLN - The love letters are packed in boxes now, and Cortney Grixby trudges off the field, smothered in a mountain of shoulder pads.

He looks small. For three years, Grixby was the poster boy for recruiting hype, the smiling kid with braces who had scholarship offers before he could drive, but now he's a freshman who's beat up and anonymous and happy.

Too late.

Nebraska cornerback Fabian Washington spots Grixby after practice and offers up an assessment.

"God's-honest truth, he looks a lot better than me when I was a freshman," Washington said. "He really doesn't get beat that much. He looks like he's been here a while."

Washington, mind you, was the last defensive player to start as a true freshman at Nebraska. But Grixby shrugs at his fast start and the fact that he's run with the No. 1 defense two weeks into fall camp.

"I've just made a couple of plays," the 5-foot-9, 160-pound defensive back said. "Right now I feel no pressure. I'm just coming in as a regular freshman trying to learn. I feel no pressure from anybody. People are going to say what they're going to say. I just let them say it. I'm just trying to be a better player."

Here's the intriguing part - 10 months ago, at Omaha Central, Grixby was a quarterback. His defensive time was spotty, some third-down situations, some matchups with the state's top receivers.

But Nebraska Defensive Coordinator Kevin Cosgrove said some of his best corners have been quarterbacks. At Wisconsin, Cosgrove and NU Secondary Coach Phil Elmassian tutored Jamar Fletcher, a high school quarterback who went on to be an All-America cornerback.

Grixby was thrown into the mix because of injuries. He might stay there, Cosgrove said, because of his speed and athleticism.