Ex-Husker Benning new coach at Omaha Northwest

Ex-Husker Benning new coach at Omaha Northwest

By The Lincoln Journal Star

Friday, Mar 20, 2009 - 08:07:55 pm CDT

Former Husker Damon Benning has been named the football coach at Omaha Northwest and Rich Rethwisch is returning to the sidelines as the coach at Wayne.

Benning was a four-year letterman at Nebraska, capping his career with MVP honors in the 1996 Orange Bowl. He ran for 95 yards and two touchdowns to help the Huskers beat Virginia Tech 41-21. Benning was a first-team Super-State selection by the Journal Star after his senior year at Omaha Northwest.

LINK

OK so just to start I'm a Omaha Northwest grad, so people in the Omaha area will probably be able to relate with me on this.

My entire tenure at Northwest was filled with nightmares as far as football is concerned. They won a total of four games in my four years there (one a year) and they made it very hard to watch them play.

This comes way out of left field for me. I mean Damon Benning is a pretty high-profile Nebraska back with strong ties to the football program. I mean, the guy does Husker radio shows and speaks on Big Red Wrap Up during football season. Anybody who knows high school football probably either knows that Northwest is very bad, or they don't even know Northwest exists.

Anybody have info on this? It just seems extremely weird and I'm surprised more attention hasn't been brought to this. Maybe I'm making something out of nothing, but he is held in high regard among Husker fans.

well he was coaching at Burke I know.

Anyways he has a lot of work to do, but didn't they make the playoffs last year and got beat by Millard West 77-0 or was that another team that got in because of stupid NSAA playoff systems