Autocracy

zoogs

There are too many good and reasonable people in this country to allow things to get any where near as bad as some of you are predicting.

I'd like to focus on this point. First, I have a degree of optimism about this, as well as in the strength of American institutions. However, *we* are those good and reasonable people, all of us, and the path we go down depends on what we do -- and what we accept with a shrug.

Autocracy: rules for survival

The two points I think are most relevant are 2 and 3.

Don't be taken in by small signs of normality. This is plainly highly abnormal. It's our human nature to reason and rationalize and try to make sense of things in a way that lets us say, "this is fine." You all followed this campaign, though.

Institutions will not save you. It's curious that we place a lot of faith in our institutions. They're strong, yes, but we tend to assume they'll exist in their current state forever, with no amount of exertion on our part. History, and the example of other countries in the present day, does not bear this out. American institutions are explicitly under attack. The norms underpinning our civic structures have been shrugged off, and those who have done so -- now in power -- will find this offers tantalizing new openings.

I have no doubt that he will try to do what he can to maximize his approval ratings -- even if it means an extended national gaslighting in which criticism dies out or is shouted down, and reasonable people lose access to the ability to discern fact from fiction. Judging from his campaign, that is precisely the goal. Most scary of all, it's not completely clear to me that he knows it. But the men around him do.

--