What kind of QB would you prefer??

I like a quarterback that can complete a pass to an open receiver, yet can tuck it and run for a first down if nothing is available. Daunte Culpepper is the type I like, he is a big strong armed smart quarterback who just so happens to be pretty good when he tucks the ball and runs it. McNabb is great as well and relying on his running ability less as a crutch and using it as an added benefit to his great quarterback play.

As a coach, I look for the following things for a quarterback,

1. Must be a leader

- able to handle responsibility

- Doesn't get to "high" or too "low" drung game

2. Must have the instict to be a play maker

- ability to make something out of nothing

3. Must be one of "football" smartest guys on field

- 2nd "coach" if you will

4. Decent arm and escapability speed

5. Good decision making skills

These are what I look for, but then again, my teams haven't played for many high school championship either :wacko:

1. Must be a leader

2. Must have the instict to be a play maker

- ability to make something out of nothing

3. Must be one of "football" smartest guys on field

- 2nd "coach" if you will

4. Decent arm and escapability speed

5. Good decision making skills

These are what I look for, but then again, my teams haven't played for many high school championship either :wacko:

Good list HANC.

I would add toughness to that list too - need a guy who can take a hit and still get to his feet without being all swimmy-headed or intimidated. Someone who can make the pass even with a DE in his face at full tilt and not take his eyes off the target.