Support for Leach?

HANC

First, most know that I am a HS football coach, and I love kids and I have been accused of being too "nice" to my team instead of being a "hard-a$$".

With that said, I am asking if anyone kind of supports Leach here. I absolutely agree with the fact that if he ordered anyone "locked" into an area, that is WRONG by all means and should be fired...

But, can anyone see how Craig James' kid might be a jerk. I honestly believe most of Leach's story. A lot of assistant coaches have said that this kid is more interested in qustioning the coaches, offering advise, and thinking he knows it all.............. we all have had kids like that on our team........

They say they have had to discipline him for being "lazy"......and that daddy likes to interfer a little bit. I can't imagine Craig James trying to throw his name around :sarcasm ..

I can picture a kid that the staff is "fed up with", coming to practice with hat on backwards, sunglasses on, not dressed in team gear (all of this was reported)....walking around acting "cocky" saying that he had a mild concussion. As a coach, I could see this causing Leech to hit his "boiling" point and wanting to put this kid in his place. I bet he did order James' into a dark closet, just in spite.

** I don't condone any of this, but I can sure see how a "reportedly" cocky-know it all kid- claiming mild injury could drive a coach to want to make an example of him. I would have just not let him suit up for the next 2-3 weeks, but Leech is a different egg.

I think it's tough to find any winners in this. Leach is a loose cannon who thinks he is answerable to no one, and what he did was out of line, though, I don't think it should have cost him his job. James sounds like a prima donna. The administration was clearly looking to get rid of Leach, and being able to skip that end of year bonus hurried what seems like a bad decision.