Anyone know Python or Anaconda?

What's the question?

I've got about 1,200 different categories, which I've put into 1,200 dataframes (not sure if that's a good way to go about this, but it's what I did).

Example:

LastName FirstName

CD Teacher

Zoogs Bob

Damodred Moiraine

Damodred Alastair

Zoogs Larry

Zoogs Bob

where LastName is the category and I want to do "stuff" to the first names. By stuff I mean lots of different operations. There's a different dataframe for each last name. I want to do the same "stuff" to the first names for every LastName. I just can't figure out how to make a loop that will go through multiple dataframes.

In basic English the loop would be:

For each last name:

Do these 30 fancy things to the first names

Not sure why I just now thought of this but once I put them into dataframes I could delete the last name column. That might help uncomplicate things for me. I started learning Python a week ago. There are about 3 other columns in the data set.

Bob Zoogs, that's me.

Do you use R, by any chance? "Dataframes" sounds rather R-like.

It *sounds* like which category it is determines what exactly you'll be doing to them. I don't completely see why there's one dataframe per category, rather than simply having (for example) the LastName variable be a category.

I apologize, since if this is a python syntax question I probably can't answer. Generally speaking, I guess I'd have a list of all the dataframes (in python, everything's technically a pointer, right? So this shouldn't be too costly?) and iterate through the list. In R you'd probably use some form of lapply family. Pseudocode wise

for(i = 0; i < length(dfList); i++) {
  doTheFancyThings();
}
Where:

doTheFancyThings(fancyThingType) {
  // if the thirty things depend on the category...
  switch(fancyThingType) {
    case 'zoogs':
        return doAwesomeThings();
        break;
    case 'Damodred':
        return doDredfulThings();
        break;
    default: