NUance's testimonial about God

Seems like there are quite a few HB posters who do not believe in God. I’m one who does believe. And here’s one reason why.

I was raised Baptist. My parents dutifully dragged me to Sunday school and church nearly every Sunday while I was growing up. This gave me a good bible background. But my faith stems from an experience I had, not from Baptist doctrine. The last year I attended Sunday school in my church (I was about 18 at the time) I had a really cool, young teacher in my Sunday school class. Mark rode a motorcycle and was a carpenter by trade. (I kid you not—a carpenter. Like Jesus.) Unbeknownst to me Mark was also a Charismatic Christian, a group he belonged to outside of our church. Charismatics are the Holy Rollers you always hear people making fun of. They’re big into the Holy Spirit. And are frowned upon by most conventional churches, including the Baptist church I belonged to.

One Sunday during our Sunday school class a friend of mine asked our Sunday School teacher Mark what it meant to be a Charismatic, and what it was all about. Mark explained the Charismatic movement to us, discussed the Holy Spirit, and then taught us a prayer asking for the Holy Spirit to enter our hearts. The Holy Spirit moved him to briefly speak in tongues. At that time I felt the Holy Spirit enter and overwhelm me. I was imbued with the Holy Spirit. It was an incredibly powerful experience, and lasted for most of that day. It was an experience like no other in my life. It made a great impression upon me. It made me know that God is real. But the speaking in tongues episode did not work out so well for my Sunday school teacher. The powers that be in our little Baptist Church did not look favorably upon Mark's demonstration of the Holy Spirit. Sadly, they removed him from our Sunday School class and he did not teach again after that. They may have even asked him to leave the church. I never saw him at that Church again.