The Mental Game

So there's been plenty of talk about what is wrong with our team this year- coaching, play calls, talent level and what not. However, it seems to me that the problem goes far beyond any of these simple things. I'm not a football expert and definitely not a psychology expert, but it looks like the majority of the problem is all in the players' (probably coaches' too) heads.

In three of our losses we have had the lead going into the final drive, and in the Miami game I think it's safe to say we had the momentum going into overtime. Each game has been ours to lose, and unfortunately we managed to do just that each time. One thing I have noticed about our team over the last several years is that we do not usually play very well at all with the lead.

Our best drives are usually when the players have felt their backs against the wall. For whatever reason, the need to make the comeback has made our guys play their best football. This has been evident this season such as in the comeback against Miami and even our final scoring drive against Wisconsin. We had more than our fair share of comebacks under Bo as well. My question is, why do our guys need to feel the pressure of being down to focus and perform well? Why has this been the best motivator the team has had?

It's been pretty apparent that we don't do well when we are winning or have a big game on the line. I can think of several instances where this has been the case. This season we have been in the driver's seat for BYU, Illinois, and Wisconsin. We were in the position each time to win and really probably should have. Please don't say this is only a Mike Riley problem though. The team crapped the bed several times under Bo too. We blew it to a lousy Texas team in our redemption game. Also blew a giant lead against OU in the BIG XII Championship game. Even the the infamous 408 game we got out to a pretty decent lead in the first quarter. This problem has extended beyond Bo or Riley.