ZT Gets a "Passing" Grade

GSG

Washington Post thinks ZT's got the right stuff...

Taylor Has Passing Grades for Huskers

Senior QB Is Key to New Offense

By Melanie Ho

Washington Post Staff Writer

Monday, August 7, 2006; Page E04

Let's get inside Zac Taylor's brain. As the senior quarterback prepares for his second season with the Nebraska Cornhuskers, there seems to be a desire for the team's supporters to peer inside his head and assess what he has learned, how he has improved and how he will once again lead the West Coast offense.

"I've just kind of been through a lot of ups and downs last season, and so I've got a lot of experiences to draw upon and I just feel a lot more comfortable than I did going into the season last fall," Taylor said.

So as Taylor's brain is examined, what others really want to know is how much he has learned and the quality of the responses that are now so second-nature that he might as well be breathing the playbook.

During Big 12 media day, Coach Bill Callahan described Taylor as a quarterback who comprehends the nuances of the game, so much so that he is like a coach on the field.

"He can absorb so much offense, so much detail, and not only absorb and exude it, but he can transcend it to other players," Callahan said. "So he can transmit it to a wide receiver. He can explain to a receiver what he's doing, how he's doing it and how do it better."

It's welcome news to a program that had not had a player throw for more than 300 yards in a game until Callahan arrived prior to the 2004 season. Taylor, meantime, came to the Cornhuskers from Butler County (Kan.) Community College in January 2005 after initially enrolling at Wake Forest.

In his first season with Nebraska, Taylor threw for 2,653 yards and 19 touchdowns to break a 33-year old single-season school passing record. Though he also set season records for passing attempts (399) and completions (233), he also absorbed 38 sacks.