Erstad out to show he's right man for job

Nexus

LINCOLN, Neb. (AP)—New Nebraska coach Darin Erstad loves when people say he can’t do something.

Erstad said he knows some in college baseball don’t think he’s qualified for the job after working one year as a volunteer assistant. While he said his 14 years in the major leagues should count for something, he simply plans to prove them wrong without lashing out.

“Maybe they’re right,” Erstad said. “Maybe I’m not experienced enough for it. Time will tell. I know baseball. I know kids. I know the University of Nebraska. Everyone is entitled to an opinion, and we’ll see what happens.”

Continue Reading

good read. It will be interesting to see how it all works out, we'll need to remember these first few years that he has basically no experience and is still learning. Personally, I think he'll be great from the start, but if we have to wait a couple years I'll be fine with it, as long as it's a guy like Darin running the show.

The Fighting Erstads will surprise a lot of people.......................

And hopefully not in the wrong way. ^_^

I suppose this does beg the question, though--what are the expectations for this year's Baseball team? Big 10 or bust, regional tourney or bust, just get a better record than last year--what are we truly expecting?

The Fighting Erstads will surprise a lot of people.......................

And hopefully not in the wrong way. ^_^

I suppose this does beg the question, though--what are the expectations for this year's Baseball team? Big 10 or bust, regional tourney or bust, just get a better record than last year--what are we truly expecting?

My guess is we'll treat it similarly to Bo Pelini's 1st year at Nebraska as head coach. Keeping in mind that like BP, DE is a first time head coach. What helps DE though is the experience of his assistants. That should hopefully translate into actual results in their first year.