Nightmare in Missouri

Twodocs

http://www.action3news.com/Global/story.asp?S=11291230

"Husker Fan Attacked By Missouri Police After Game

Posted: Oct 9, 2009 10:41 PM CDT

Independence, MO - Kristy Powell can't believe what happened to her during and after the Huskers beat the Missouri Tigers football team. Powell is from Omaha but now lives with her family in Independence, MO and claims she got battered and bruised at the hands of Independence police officers. It happened at the Buffalo Wild Wings restaurant while Powell and her family were watching the game. They started cheering after a Husker touchdown and a Tiger fan didn't like it and started cursing at them telling them to shut up. Powell responded. "I said watch your mouth my kids are here....he said I don't care I'm a police officer I can say what I want to say," said Powell.

That's when she says a different officer approached her then slammed her up against the wall while putting hand cuffs on her. Powell tells Action 3 News she fully cooperated and doesn't know why the officer acted the way he did. She says another officer pushed her face against the exit door of the bar... then slammed her against the trunk of the squad car before arresting her and taking her to jail. Powell said it was a nightmare and now she's filing a complaint against the Independence Police Officers who hurt here.

Independence Police officers would not comment on Powell's case but says because of the nature of the complaint it will be investigated by internal affairs."

Powell was charged with resisting arrest and disturbing the peace. Powell says she would resist an officer and would never disrespect one especially since her father is a retired Omaha Police Officer.

Reported by Devon Patton, devon@action3news.com" :wtf:steam:cop::o:madash