2nd Debate Discussion

Since the rest of these threads have all delved deep into hyper-focused mudslinging, I figured we'd start a new thread with a broad scope.

I'm no expert on politics so I won't say much to start it off since it will just get debunked, but what did you think generally speaking? Mitt Romney didn't seem to give direct answers nearly as well as Obama did - even wanting to go back to past topics much later because he can't handle not having the last say. His elementary school "he went first so I get to go now" mentality is incredibly off-putting, and he should have avoided the "I care about 100% of the people" line.

What are your thoughts?

Oh, and the moderator's factual rebuking of Romney on the "act of terror" bit was epic and classic.

I feel Obama is still not as slick a debater as Mitt Romney is, and Mitt played off Obama's sometimes confrontational answers pretty well.

Mitt went back to talking about how there would be no tax increases, a lot of tax deductions, and that the math would all add up, with very little to back this up other than his personal assurance. I find it troubling and I wish someone would specifically throw some numbers out at him and ask him how that works. I suppose President Obama did that on a broad level. To me, after reading the CBO report on the Ryan plan, it seems pretty clear that cutting spending alone isn't feasible, and cutting revenue on top of that doesn't make it any easier.

I think Romney's continued attempts to take potshots at the Obama administration for what happened with the US ambassador is really pretty weak.

I'll agree they both had their snippy moments, but in the end I'm not too interested in "who won the looks show" - which is what 'who won the debate' often really is asking.

My growing sense is that the Romney / Ryan are impressive salesmen. But at this point, it's really, really hard to buy what is being sold. No matter how slick of a speaker Mitt is, and let's give him credit. He's good.