My thoughts on NU's recruiting splash

As many of you know, I am a self-proclaimed recruiting guru. I am a college student now in my junior year and I work 35 hours a week at Sears in the Hardware/Lawn and Garden department. So if you asked me how I find the time to watch all of the film that I do and gather all the information that I do, I would not have an answer for you because I don't know the answer to that myself. First and foremost, this is NOT a stars discussion at all. I really do believe that there is some validity to recruits being ranked highly.

What brings me to start this thread was the recruiting splash that I believe that Bo and company have made thus far in their time here at NU. They have found talent high and low and the staff flat out works hard. There has always been a plan when going after/not going after a certain recruit. For example, Austin Hill last year. If we wanted him, we could have landed him but the kid came here and allegedly was more worried about getting to the NFL and personal statistics than playing with the N on his helmet. So we stopped contacting him. Many of you give me crap about the whole Owa situation and I probably deserve it. That kid was everything that the staff looks for in a person and a football player.

As we are more able to obtain top talent coming out of high school now, I hope that we do not overlook some of the type of kids that we are getting now. For example a kid like Andrew Green. He was a steal!!! Despite what the shortwhorns think, he is a big part of our future plans in the defensive backfield and not just a prop to get Aaron. We would have been upset if he would have decommitted, but probably not as upset if a guy like Chris Williams would have decommitted.