My short Tom Osborne Story/Encounter

I graduated from Nebraska in 1994. Well we started tail gating really early. (imagine that, college kids sipping on beers at 7:30 in the morning) anways.....There were like 15 of us outside of the Sigma Chi house. Drinking beers, getting all excited about playing Kansas. Mind you there was a lot of talk about this being the year when Coach Osborne was finally going to win his NC! Anways.......one of my buds heard that Dr Tom jogged every morning and sometimes he would leave the stadium and actually jog through the campus on occasion. So we all decided to park our lawn chairs in the front yard to see if TOM THE MAN would actually jog past our house. We continued to BS and sip the suds. About 15 mins or so later there was this tall, skinny man, wearing grey sweat pants, a grey sweat shirt and a red stocking cap. We were like HOLY sh#t IT'S TOM!!!!!!! We all lined up on the side of the road like you used to do as a kid waiting for someone to throw ya candy from a float. Anyways....We were all screaming, KICK THEIR ASS COACH, BEAT THOSE HAWKS, YOU CAN DO IT COACH, WE ARE NUMBER 1 ....and just a cool and calm as Dr Tom always is, he turned to us all and said...."We'll do what we can boys. do what we can!", and then he jogged off down the road. We were all in awe that Coach Osborne, THE MAN spoke to us. It just goes to show ya, no matter where or what Dr Tom is doing, he will always take the time to acknowledge you. Even a bunch of drunk frat boys like we were! :lol: Ahhhh the good ole days! :clap

not really a rumor. it is a good story tho.

Agree - let's move this to the main fourm page. Might spark a nice thread about "My Encounter with THE MAN".

And hack - seems I recall you posting one a couple of years ago. Something about Dr. Tom knocking on your door while you were eating Cheetos and playing a video game? Wish we could get the search function, well, functioning...

not really a rumor. it is a good story tho.