The Option

Spartness

Since that other thread is dead, I will continue with a new one. Do you think perhaps in the future with a guy like Lee starting that we may see Callahan throw in an option once in a while to throw off the defense? Ganz could run it, too, maybe. Keller and Witt probably not.

Callahan tried it once at Colorado in 2005. Pretty funny seeing Taylor running it. :lol:

Most of you are going to disagree with me, but the option would still work today...... If Tom Osborne was the HC, there is absolutely NO DOUBT in my mind that NU would still be the dynasty it was..... The option can and does work !!!! The reason why it fell apart at NU is because Frank could not recruit.... TO would still be able to bring "top notch" athletes to fit his system !!!!! If you try to run the option with lesser talent than Crouch, Frost, Frazier........ Phillips, Green, Mackovicas at FB, then the system doesn't work (ie Solich)....

As a football coach, I know that the more difficult you make it for an opponent to prepare for you, you have "won" the practice week...... In today's West Coast, spread NCAA, teams would have NO chance to prepare for the option vs TO caliber athletes..... It is impossible for a team to practice for only a week to develop the discipline it takes to stop the well run option......

Now, under Solich, with lesser talent, you don't need as much discipline, because overall team speed on defefnse can stop the leser athlete.

Does this mean that I want it back.....not necessarily..... I like BC's offense... It is fun to watch and we always have the opportunity to pick up the 3rd and 10, and the chance to score quickly in a come from behind chance.